European Chapter (IARMJ-Europe) Biennial Conference Dublin, Ireland 8 - 10 September 2024

Sunday 8th September 2024

18.00-20.00

Law Society of Ireland, Blackhall Place, Dublin

Welcome Reception and opening words: The Hon. Mr Justice Donal O'Donnell- Chief Justice of Ireland

Monday 9th September 2024

Arrival and registration of participants

Conference venue: Hybernia Conference Centre, Dublin Castle,

First Session 9.00-10.20

Opening Session

Chaired by The Hon. Mr Justice Donal O'Donnell, Chief Justice of Ireland

- o President of the European Chapter of the International Association of Refugee and Migration Judges (IARMJ-Europe), Boštjan Zalar, Senior High Court Judge (9.00-9.15)
- o Representative of the Government of Ireland (9.15-9:30) **tbc**
- o The Attorney General of Ireland, Mr Rossa Fanning SC (9:30-9:45)
- o Director of the EU Agency for Asylum (EUAA), Ms. Nina Gregori (9.45-10:00)
- o Representative of UNHCR (10:00-10.15) tbc
- o President of the Council of the IARMJ-Europe, Ms Hilkka Becker, Chairperson of the International Protection Appeals Tribunal, Ireland (10.15-10.20)

10:20 - 10:50 Break with refreshments

Second Session 10.50 - 12.30

Developments in CJEU, ECtHR and Irish jurisprudence in the areas of asylum and migration

Moderator Judge Jacek Chlebny, President of the Supreme Administrative Court, Poland

- Selected Issues on developments in preliminary rulings in asylum and migration cases of the CJEU:
 Lars Bay Larsen, Vice-President of the CJEU; (10.50-11.15)
- o Selected issues on developments in the recent case law in asylum and migration related cases of the ECtHR, Judge of the ECtHR (11.15-11.35) **tbc**
- O Current issues in Irish case law on asylum or migration related to the jurisprudences of the CJEU and the ECtHR, Ms Justice Niamh Hyland, the High Court of Ireland (11.35-11.55)
- o Discussant, Cathryn Costello, Professor of global refugee and migration law, Sutherland School of Law, University College Dublin. (11.55- 12.15)

General discussion (12.15-12-30)



International Association of Refugee & Migration Judges

Established at Warsaw, 18 September 1997

EUROPEAN CHAPTER

IARMJ

Third Session 12.30-13.00

Challenges ahead of the mandate of the EUAA in relation to courts and tribunals in the EU; moderated by Luca Perilli, Court of Trento, Italy

o Nicolas Jacobs, Head of the Courts&Tribunals Sector, EUAA (12.30-12.50) Discussion (12.50-13:00)

13.00-14.00 LUNCH

Fourth session 14.00-15.20

Examples of migration law issues before Supreme Courts of the Member States of the EU; moderated by Liesbeth Steendijk, Council of State, The Netherlands

- o Holger Böhmann, Federal Supreme Administrative Court, Germany (14.00-14.20)
- o The Right Hon. Lord Justice McCloskey, Court of Appeal, Northern Ireland (14.20-14.40)
- o Jakub Camrda, Supreme Administrative Court, Czech Republic (14.40-15.00)

Q/A and general discussion (15.00-15.20)

15.20-15.50 Break with refreshments

General Assembly and Elections of Officers of the IARMJ-Europe: 15.50-17.00

chaired by Boštjan Zalar, President of the IARMJ-Europe

- ♦ Report of the President of the IARMJ-Europe
- ♦ Report of the Treasurer
- ♦ Presentation of the candidates for new officers
- ♦ Elections of officers (*details to follow*)

19.00 Conference dinner, Portrait Gallery, Dublin Castle



International Association of Refugee & Migration Judges

Established at Warsaw, 18 September 1997

EUROPEAN CHAPTER

IARMJ

Tuesday 10th September 2024

Fifth Session 9.00-10.15

Selected issues of administration of quality justice in asylum and migation cases; moderated by Johan Berg, Immigration Appeals Board, Norway

- o Mr Justice Peter Charleton, The Supreme Court of Ireland (9.00-9.20)
- o Melanie Plimmer, President of the First-tier Tribunal (Immigration and Asylum Chamber), UK (9.20-9.40)
- o Mathieu Herondart, President of the National Court for Asylum, France (9.40-10:00) Discussion (10.00-10.15)

10.15-10.40 Break with refreshment

Sixth session 10.40 - 12.15

Panel discussion on effective access to judicial protection regarding access to asylum, safe country concepts and/or border procedures; moderated by Aikaterina Koutsopoulou, Vice-President of the IARMJ-Europe, Judge of the First Instance Court, Athens

Panellists interventions (10.40-11.45):

- o Thomas Besson, Vice-President of the National Court for Asylum, France (10:40-11.00)
- o Peter Nedwed, Supreme Administrative Court, Austria (11:00-11.15)
- Michael Hoppe, Presiding Judge at the Higher Administrative Court of Mannheim, Vice-President of the IARMJ-Europe (11.15-11.30)
- o Marleen Maes, Council for Alien Law Litigation, Belgium (11:30-11:45)

Q/A and general discussion 11:45-12:05

Seventh session 12.05 – 13.00

Global standards for international protection in war circumstances; moderated by Katelijne Declerck, Honorary President of the IARMJ-Europe

- o Representative of UNHCR (12.05-12:25)
- o Hugo Storey, Honorary President of the IARMJ-Europe (12:25-12:45)

Discussion (12:45-13.00)

13.00 Lunch

END OF CONFERENCE